My First Irish Dance Recital

After years of wanting to learn to Irish dance, but always being afraid of starting as an adult, I finally found a beginning adult class at the Old Town School of Folk Music.

Last summer I signed myself up for Level 1 Irish Step Dance, where I learned a basic jig step, as well as a reel. This video is a sampling of the jig I learned. (Disclaimer: This was after only 7 weeks of instruction, and we were all really nervous, since we hasn’t practiced on the stage at all.)

Since then, I have moved up to Level 2, which I have taken for a year. I’ve learned hard shoe as well as soft shoe. Although I’ve tried hornpipe, reel, slip jig, and treble jig, I still prefer the reel over all the types. I’m not sure why, but my body just seems to feel the music of a reel more than the others.

I hope to stick with Irish dance for a long time, because even though I know I’ll never be a Riverdancer, I love the music, I love the movements, and I love the way I feel when I’m dancing.

2 thoughts on “My First Irish Dance Recital

  1. Pingback: I Danced in a “Real Recital” | My Life's List

  2. Pingback: I Danced in a “Real Recital” | My Life's List

Leave a Reply

