City Chase 2010

When I first heard about the City Chase events a few years ago, I knew right away I had to add it to my list.

This year when it came time to register, I sent out an email to all my friends who I thought might be interested in being my partner for the race. Of everyone I emailed, only one friend responded and said she’d do it. (Her sense of adventure and willingness to try new things is one of the reasons we’re friends!)

So, we signed up, not really knowing what to expect – other than a memorable day of adventure and challenge.

You can read all about the details of our experience here, but for me the real accomplishment of this day was just participating.

There are a lot of things in life that I hear about and think, “Wow, that sounds cool. I’d like to do that some day,” but then I never get around to it, or I make up excuses for why I can’t.

This year with the City Chase, I found something I wanted to do, I made the arrangements to try it, and then I did it.

One of the reasons I started My Life’s List project was to acknowledge the things I want to accomplish in life, and then hold myself accountable for trying to do as many of the things as I can. By signing up for and completing the City Chase, it reminded me that for many of the things I want to do, all I have to do is sign up or say “Yes, I’m going to do this!” and then I will do it.

Not all of the things on my list are this easy to commit to (sometimes you need to do more than pay an $80 entry fee to accomplish something), but it reminds me that a lot of things I want to do simply require that first step.

I wonder what I’ll sign up for next!

A Very Good Place to Start

Leave a Reply

