Learning To Write With My Left Hand

While some of the items on my list can be crossed off with one quick sweep, others require practice and patience. One of these long-term goals is to learn to write – legibly – with my left hand.

With the start of the new year, I decided it might be a good time to start to learn this new skill.

I started to think about how I learned to write with my right hand, and how I can recreate that with my left. Kids, when they’re learning to write, first need to develop fine motor skills, then learn the strokes and letters, and finally – practice, practice, practice.

So, I’ve come up with the following three steps to mimic these stages of development:

  1. Use my left hand to brush my teeth. (To develop fine motor skills)
  2. Buy a handwriting workbook and complete the pages with my left hand.
  3. Keep a left-handed journal, where I write the date and a few sentences every day with my left hand.

We’ll see how it goes. Maybe in the end I’ll even post some before and after samples.

1.18.11 – Update

I’ve been practicing, and here’s a glimpse of my progress:

Practice Makes Perfect


3 thoughts on “Learning To Write With My Left Hand

    • You’re so sweet! I think your list is awesome, too. Don’t sell yourself short!

      I’ve been adding to this list for years (faster than I’ve been crossing things off, actually). Any time I find myself thinking, “I’ve always wanted to try _______.” I put it on here. I feel like it’s the only way to hold myself accountable for trying the things life has to offer.

  1. Pingback: The Year In Review « My Life's List

Leave a Reply

