Someday I will have a scarf

A few months ago, partially as a favor for a friend who was collecting scarves for a silent auction, I decided I would start up a knitting club at work. It’s something my coworkers had been talking about for a while, and since learning to knit was something on my list, I figured it was the perfect opportunity.

I booked a meeting room during lunchtime one day a week, asked a couple of the knitters in my office if they’d be interested in helping others learn, and sent out an invitation. The knitters of the group really did all the work, but at least I got the ball rolling.

Since then, about 8 of my coworkers have been meeting weekly to socialize and knit. Five or six of them donated beautiful scarves for my friend’s fundraiser. And many of them have moved on to bigger and better projects.

I, on the other hand, did not finish my scarf. I didn’t donate anything. And I’ve been too busy to attend the gatherings. I’m about half way finished, and while I feel like I’ve learned how to knit, I cannot in good faith cross this one off my list until I have a completed scarf.

In the meantime, I can keep the status at “in progress” and post a photo of what I have at this point, as a motivator to finally finish the darned thing.

Check back soon, and if I still haven’t finished, it might be time for an intervention.

2 thoughts on “Someday I will have a scarf

  1. Pingback: I don’t always accomplish everything I set out to do. | My Life's List

  2. Pingback: The Year In Review « My Life's List

Leave a Reply

