Contest for a Cause

I’ve entered a little contest in the blogging world, and I need your help! It won’t cost you anything but a few minutes of your time.

If you look to the right of this post, you’ll see the new SocialVibe widget I’ve added. For every reader who clicks that link and watches a short (few seconds) video or answers a survey question, a donation will be made to DonorsChoose, one of my favorite nonprofit organizations online. And for every one of my readers who participates, my chances of winning the contest improve.

DonorsChoose is an online charity that supports classrooms in need, in locations all over the U.S. If you are a teacher, a parent, or have paid any attention at all to our country’s education crisis, you’ll know that funding is a big issue, no matter where you are.

In some schools, they can’t afford books, pencils, or paper. In many classrooms, teachers use their own money to pay for the supplies that every student should have access to. Music and art programs are being cut left and right, but some passi0nate teachers are fighting to keep the arts in their classrooms.

This is where Donors Choose  comes in. Teachers can go online and make a request for help.  Anything from items as small as a pencil to big projects like funding a school play or purchasing a new computer can be posted on the site. Then generous donors can browse the projects and support the cause(s) most important to them. (Hence the name DonorsChoose).

Interested yet? Well here’s how you can help.

  1. Click on my Widget on the right side of the page, and complete the “task”. Then SocialVibe will make a contribution to DonorsChoose, and you don’t have to pay a penny. (This will also help me in my contest, so please do this one!)
  2. If you want to make even more of an impact, please check out some of the incredible projects listed on Donors Choose, and consider making a monetary donation to one or more of them.

Thank you for taking the time to read this and support a great cause!

8 thoughts on “Contest for a Cause

  1. It’s a very a good thing what you’re doing here. I’ve also got the same widget on my blog and I’m trying to get people to do the same. So easy and cost-effective, don’t you think?
    I clicked on your widget and it brought up the following message: Thank you for your support! New activities will be coming in soon…

    I’m not sure what that means but whatever happens, I hope you win the contest. Good luck!

  2. I received the same message as wiredcause, on my page and on yours. It worked yesterday, I’m not sure what is going on. I’m going to investigate in the forums.

  3. Thanks Wired, I tried on another persons blog and it didn’t work there either. The forums didn’t have anything posted so when I get home I’ll start a thread. Grr. It figures I’d run a broken contest. I’m sure it will get resolved soon. And once I do you should enter! Just leave ur starting stats in the comment so we know how many you collected :) lol i make reallllly good cookies!!

  4. Pingback: Puttering at a Productive Pace | Ginger Couturier: Trapped in Suburbia

  5. Pingback: Everyone’s A Winner! | Ginger Couturier: Trapped in Suburbia

Leave a Reply

