Blog Award

I remember the first “blog” I ever had was an old LiveJournal account many, many years ago. Back in the early days of blogs, they were pretty much just online versions of a personal journal or diary.

Blogs have come a long way since that time. Now they can be a source of news, recipes, fashion tips, and photography tutorials. You can follow people’s travels, walk in the footsteps of a stay-at-home mom, and learn about the ups and downs of a newlywed couple. Blogging has become more than a way to document your own life online. It’s a way to reach other people, and become a part of the fascinating “blogging community.”

When I first started My Life’s List and CluelessPhotographer, both were intended just for me. I was nervous to share the links. Even a little embarrassed. I didn’t want people to see how elementary my photography skills were. I didn’t want anyone to laugh at some of the silly things on my life’s list.

But soon I learned that there are benefits to sharing your blog with others. Feedback on photos helped me improve. Sharing my list with my Dance Experiment friends led to encouragement and support in accomplishing more of my goals. Soon I began to look forward to receiving comments on my blog, and I found myself checking my stats every day, hoping for more hits today than the day before.

I still don’t have many readers, and that’s okay. I am afraid of shifting to writing too much for others and not enough for myself. I’m okay with and grateful for the few readers I have.

But today I was humbled when a reader of mine passed on an award that has been popping up around the blogosphere. (I’ve never actually used that word before.) The award is given by bloggers to other new or recently discovered blogs they enjoy.

This morning, a “blog friend” of mine, Ginger Couturier, passed on the Versatile Blogger Award to me.  Ginger has a great blog, and I absolutely love her list of 365 things she hopes to accomplish this year.  I think the concept is brilliant.

The “rules” of the award are that you must share 7 things about yourself, and then pass on the award to other bloggers.

Perhaps it’s a bit like the blogging version of the old-fashioned chain letters or the more-recent email forwards, but I do like the concept. It gives me a chance to recognize other bloggers that I follow regularly and can tell them in some small way how awesome I think they are.

So, I will accept the terms of the award, and hope that some of my favorite bloggers appreciate the gesture as much I as do.

About Me.

  1. I am very particular about what side of a table I sit on at a restaurant. It has something to do with not having my back to the door or the center of the room. Because of this, I tend to try to get to the table first and pick my seat before someone else sits down.
  2. I’m a little bit of a grammar snob. One of my biggest pet peeves is when people think “less” and “fewer” are interchangeable. They are not.
  3. Despite the fact that I am an editor, I am a terrible speller.
  4. Despite the fact that I am a terrible speller, I can tell you exactly why  I spell  a word wrong. I am majorly nerdy about phonics, and I know that I usually get the vowel wrong in unaccented syllables. According to literacy research, I have not yet mastered the “derivational relations stage” of spelling. (I told you I was nerdy!)
  5. I am afraid that when I am old and dying, my biggest regret will be never having lived abroad.
  6. I have a thing for accents. Especially Irish ones. British and Australian are okay too.
  7. I’m afraid of heights, but sometimes I think about wanting to try skydiving. It’s the one thing I haven’t been able to get myself to add to my Life’s List, because then I’m afraid I’ll actually have to do it.
Blogs I Love (In alphabetical order)

Dreaming of Fireflies – my little sister’s take on life via photography, quotes, and general observations of the world around her

GlassDreaming – amazing photography blog

Katie Going Global – one of my favorite travel bloggers

Mac ‘n Cheese Lifestyle – amusing musings on just about everything from one of the most entrepreneurial women I know

On Our Own Path – the incredible adventures of a married couple who has decided to take a less-traditional path in life of traveling pretty much since they got married. These two people are so brave and are living the life so many of us can only dream of, because we’d never have the guts to actually do it.

Things You Realize After You Get Married – I’m not married, but many of my friends are. And sometimes I feel like everyone tries to press their ideas of marriage onto you. They say things like, “you’ll understand someday”. Or they make it seem like if only you were married you could be as happy as them. But not this blog. This one is so sweet and so real. Both the ups and downs are shared honestly, and it’s so refreshing to see someone embark on a journey, not as something that is perfect, but that takes work – and is worth it.

2 thoughts on “Blog Award

  1. Pingback: I’m Very Flattered… « Katie Going Global

Leave a Reply

