There’s No Backing Out Now

Earlier this month I mentioned that I went crazy and decided to commit to running a half marathon.

However, although I had signed up for Team Bookin’ It through Open Books, I hadn’t officially registered for the Chicago Half Marathon, and I was still sitting on the $80 registration fee.

Well, this evening, I received my very first (and second) donation on my fundraising page!  I was so humbled and grateful that people were already supporting me and Open Books, and it made me realize there’s no backing out now.

So, I stopped procrastinating, and I just finished signing my life away registering for the Chicago Half Marathon!

I’m officially a registered participant! Eeep!

And, our first Sunday training run is this coming Sunday. Every Sunday morning this summer, rain or shine, I will be getting up at the butt-crack of dawn, to go for my longest run of my life to that point.

And, just to take it a step further, I’ve also decided I am going to attempt to not drink, even a little, the night before a long run. This means my summer Saturdays* will be completely sober. (*With the exception of Sundays following any weddings I’m already invited to, and my friend Rachel’s bachelorette party, in which case I am planning to move my long run to Saturday morning.)

I’m willing to take bets on how long I can actually stick with this whole plan. Submit your over/under now. But, darn it, I’m going to try!

Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “There’s No Backing Out Now

  1. Pingback: What I’ve Been Up To While MIA | My Life's List

  2. Pingback: Half Marathon Final Preparations | My Life's List

Leave a Reply

