What I’ve Been Up To While MIA

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything here.  And while I’ve been missing, although I haven’t accomplished anything off my Life’s List, I have been accomplishing plenty in my life.

Here’s some of what I’ve been up to.

I moved!

I moved out of my old apartment where I lived alone (living alone was a Life’s List item!), and into a newer, bigger, nicer place with a roommate who’s a boy. It’s been exciting, exhausting, and a little scary, too.  Giving up the freedom of living alone and learning how to share again is going to take some getting used to. Then again, having someone to share the bills with won’t take any adjusting at all!

We’re well on our way to getting settled, though there is still plenty left to do. We still need to paint the living room, hang pictures on the walls (my favorite!) and purchase  some various pieces of furniture, including a new patio table for our balcony!

In the meantime, I am perfectly content sitting on a folding chair as I type this, looking out at the gorgeous city skyline. :)

I’ve been running!

As you know, I’m training for the half marathon. I’ve been doing my official training runs for 3 weeks now, doing 3-4 runs during the week, plus group runs on Sunday mornings.

Training has had it’s ups and downs for me. The downs include my terribly slow pace (as a fast walker and a slow runner, my two paces are almost the same!), my asthma/breathing issues, and my stressing out when I can’t find time to fit in a run on a run day.

However, the ups have been pretty inspiring. I’m now “comfortably” running 3 miles at a time (not too long ago I could hardly run one). I’m having fun with mapping and GPS tracking programs like MapMyRun and Runtastic for the iPhone. (Oh yeah, I also joined the 21st century and upgraded to an iPhone!) And, I am learning that taking things in small steps with lots of small successes really can help make a lofty goal seem within reach.

I won’t be posting too much about my running progress here, because I am keeping a separate blog as part of my Team Bookin’ It fundraising page. If you’re interested in making a donation, or just following my running adventures, check out the site here:


I’m filling up my calendar with lots of summer fun!

Between work, new home things, and running, I’ve been trying to squeeze in as much summer fun as I can. This includes my company softball league,  yoga, outdoor dining with friends, baby showers, lunch with old college pals, sporting events, and all the other fun stuff Chicago offers in the summer.  All while trying to reserve a few days for relaxing and catching up on my reading.

So, while I’ll try to be better about posting on my blog(s), don’t worry too much if you don’t hear from me for a while. It’s very likely that the less I post, the more I actually am out accomplishing!

Happy Summer!

Leave a Reply

