Checking In

I know, I know. I haven’t written in a while, and I haven’t crossed anything new off my list.

But that doesn’t mean I haven’t been working on things.

Here’s where a lot of my efforts have been going lately:

Run a Half Marathon – I’ve been training 3-4 days a week, and increasing my mileage every Sunday. Last Sunday was my longest run of my life – 9 miles! (Plus another .75 mile sprint in the rain on my walk home.) One month from yesterday is the big race, and you know what? I think I’m actually going to be able to do it!

P.S. As part of my preparation for the race, I’ve also been attempting to raise money for Open Books and Team Bookin’ It. I still have a ways to go on that, so if you’d like to help out in my fundraising efforts, please visit my web page:

Run a 5K in under 30 minutes – I did not accomplish this one, but I did set a personal best while running in the Bastille Day 5K last month. I finished in 31:47, which was actually 2 minutes and 49 seconds off my previous race in June.

Currently my training has been focused on increasing mileage, not speed, so I’m not really surprised I didn’t run a sub-30 5K. But, I do feel like I’m in pretty good shape right now, so I may sign up for another 5K this fall and see if I can do it as one of my 12 things in 2011.

Read 50 Books in a Year I’m still 3 books behind right now, but I’ve been struggling to stay in the running to meet my goal. Yesterday I finished book #27 for the year, and I have a bunch of books on reserve at the library. Keep your fingers crossed for me.

I’d really love to accomplish this one this year, because next year I’d rather focus on reading for quality over quantity. Basically, there are dozens of books on my to-read list that I have been avoiding because I know they’ll take me forever to finish (i.e. all the classics I should have read in high school English class but never did).

Other than running and reading, I’ve also been trying just to enjoy the summer. Come fall and the cooler weather, I think I’ll start focusing on some other indoor projects. And maybe come winter I’ll be desperate for another vacation and start thinking about crossing off some travel-related things from my list!

Stay tuned…

2 thoughts on “Checking In

  1. Glad to see you back! 9 miles is so good, I just know you are going to do great next month! It’s so great that you are doing it and I am cheering you on :)

Leave a Reply

