More Stuff About Running

If you’ve seen my post from a few weeks ago, you know that I have caught a bit of the running bug. Or, as some people see it, I’ve officially lost my mind.

I’ve registered myself for not only another half, but also the Disney World Marathon. I know, I know, I said I had no desire to run a full marathon. But, I guess I just want to do it once, and I could think of no better place than in Disney World. (That, and I know that if I did the Disney Half, I’d only be disappointed I didn’t get the Mickey Medal, and I’d end up having to go back down to Orlando and do it all over again.)

I’m actually pretty excited about it. What I’m not excited about is training for the next 3 months, outdoors, during the Chicago winter. But worst case scenario, if I have to walk some of the race, I can. They give you 7 hours to finish, and my Chicago Half finishing time actually qualifies me for a starting corral. So, I get the impression that it’s a little less competitive than some of the other marathons. (That said, I still want/need to take my training seriously. 26.2 miles is a long freakin’ way!)

And speaking of finishing times, I’m still working toward another item on my list – to finish a 5K in under 30 minutes. To date, my personal best is 31:47, which I achieved back in June. I’m running in the Bucktown 5K tomorrow, and I’m going to see what I can do. I’m not too confident that tomorrow will be the day. I haven’t been working with my speed too much, and the cold air has really been bothering my lungs. But cross your fingers for me and check back later to see the results.

As for non-running related things…I’m still plugging away on my 50 Books in a Year goal, but I’ve hit some stumbling blocks there, too. Due to stress, headaches, and a more crowded morning commute, my reading time has decreased¬†significantly¬†and I’ve been stuck on book #35 for a few weeks now.

My goal is to spend a few hours reading today and finish this thing so I can move on. That will leave me with 15 books for the remaining 13 weeks in the year. Totally manageable.

So, reading and running. Those are the goals for the fall. And maybe a few other surprises as well.

Leave a Reply

