Been There, Done That

Some things on my Life’s List are things that mean a lot to me: things I have worked hard for, like training for a half marathon;¬†things that may only happen once in my life (marriages, birth of a first child, etc.). Other things may never actually happen, so if they do they will be extra special (be in a movie, go to the Oscars, be featured on Freshly Pressed).

However, other things on my List are things that I simply want to experience once so I can say “been there, done that.”

And that’s how I feel about my trip to the Mall of America.

Earlier this month while visiting my sister in St. Paul, we made a trip to the Mall of America. Yes, it was big. Yes, there’s a roller coaster inside. But, I hate to say it, I really wasn’t all that impressed. In fact, I was pretty underwhelmed. To me, the most exciting part of the trip was seeing where they filmed one of my favorite scenes from the original Mighty Ducks movie.

(Skip to 8:33)

Maybe I’m a little spoiled because I grew up going to Woodfield Mall and have shopped regularly at three of the malls on the list of 50 largest malls in America. Or maybe, I wasn’t impressed because I don’t even really enjoy shopping.

In fact, now that I think about it, I’m not quite sure why I added this to my list. I guess it’s something I added a long time ago and my dreams and aspirations have since changed. (Which reminds me, I really should come up with a way to reevaluate some of the items on my list and decide whether or not to remove them when they are no longer important to me. Maybe I’ll revisit that idea in the near future.)

But either way, visiting the Mall of America was on my List, and now I can cross it off. And, more importantly, this means I have officially reached my goal of crossing off 12 things in 2011!