Reading Goal #1: Carving Out Time To Read

As I mentioned in my last post, my new job – while completely awesome – means that I will no longer be able to read on my commute. That means I’m going to have to set aside some time to read at home or read in other ways.

Here are some of my ideas:

1. Set aside time in the morning.

My new job starts later than my old one, and it takes less time to get there. The non-morning-person in me would normally take that as a welcome invitation to start sleeping in. However, in an attempt to better myself, I am going to try to continue getting up at the same time I used to.  This will leave me time to either read or work out each morning. Right now it doesn’t matter to me whether I decide to better my body or better my mind, as long as I’m bettering something other than my sleeping hours.

2 . Try to spend less time in front of my computer in the evenings, and more time with a book.

I spend a lot of time doing absolutely nothing online. Facebook, WordPress, and obsessively checking emails even when I know there’s nothing new takes hours of my life away. I’m pretty sure if I put away my computer for just a week, I could accomplish hours of more productive things. Even if I just trade a half an hour a day of computer time for reading time, I think I will notice a huge increase in books read.

3. Set aside some book & coffee time on the weekends. 

I love curling up on the couch with a book on a Saturday morning, or sitting in a coffee shop in Lincoln Square reading on a Sunday afternoon. However, I don’t do this nearly enough, and I want to make it happen more this year.

4. Listen to audio books on my walk to work.

I started testing out audio books during my last few long runs, and it worked out better than expected. I’m still not a huge fan of listening to my books, but if I find some great narrators (preferably as hilarious as Tina Fey, or ones with great accents) I might be able to get into it. I can usually listen to about one chapter a day while commuting, so this could potentially add a book a month, give or take, to my list.

5. Try harder to read some of the eBooks I have on my phone.

I don’t have an eReader, but I do have several books saved on my iPhone. Although my own personal jury is still out about eBooks, I think there are some times when it’s worth pulling out my phone and reading a few pages here and there, rather lugging out a whole book to read a few pages. This isn’t something I’m hugely committed to, but I’m going to try to open iBooks instead of Facebook whenever I have a few minutes to kill in a waiting room or lobby.

So, I hope with these few ideas, I will be able to continue to fit reading time into my life, even though I won’t be reading on trains anymore.

Leave a Reply

