February Check-In

Well, I’ve officially stuck with my monthly check-ins for two months in a row. Let’s hope I can keep up the good work.

Overall, February was a month of laziness and lethargy, which is okay with me. I’ve always been the type to be extremely active and social in the summer, and then fall into hibernation mode in the winter. And I actually was busier than usual this year in December and January, so it all finally caught up with me this month.

I didn’t see many friends this month, didn’t have too many adventures, and spent some time nursing my knee and not doing much running (or working out of any kind, unfortunately). But I was able to relax, get settled into my new job, and make some goals for the coming months.

Here’s a quick look at the month.

Life’s List Items Crossed Off: Zero.

Miles Run: 11.7 – not so great.

Races Run: 1 – Warm Your Heart 5K

Races registered for: 3 since my last update. The upcoming race calendar looks like this:

  • 3/18 – Get Lucky 7K
  • 3/25 – Shamrock Shuffle 8K
  • 5/26 – Soldier Field 10 Mile
  • 6/2 – The Color Run
  • 9/2 – Disneyland Half Marathon
I’ve officially prohibited myself from registering for any more until I get my knee checked out and figure out what’s wrong. Although, I really would like to run a race in April to keep up with my one race a month goal.

Books Read: 6

Books in progress: 2

  • Holler If You Hear Me: The Education of a Teacher and His Students by Gregory Michie
  • How The Irish Saved Civilization by Thomas Cahill

Accomplishments of February:

  • Getting settled in my job.
  • Being lazy on the couch, getting sucked in to Worst Cooks in America and other Food Network shows.
  • Finishing the first season of Downton Abbey on Netflix
  • Ski trip – in which I had my first wipeout since 1995.
  • Taking a cake decorating class.

Aspirations for March:

  • Seeing Riverdance for the first time ever! (This is on my List, and tickets are already purchased!)
  • Make corned beef and cabbage for St. Patrick’s Day
  • Go to the sports doctor and figure out what’s wrong with my knee
  • Sign up for yoga and/or dance classes at the studio in my office building
  • Work out more, even if I can’t run for a while
  • Take a pasta making class through Dabble
  • Take some great photos of my nephew when he’s in town so I can finally frame some and put them in my office

Leave a Reply

