March Check-In

March went by even faster than February did. Maybe it was the spring and even summer-like weather we had that made time fly. It was also full of running-related adventures (though not much actual running – more race registrations and therapy sessions), St. Patrick’s Day fun, and finally getting out of the house to see friends and drink beers on patios.

Here’s a quick recap of the month.

Life’s List Items Crossed Off: 1 – Riverdance!

Miles Run: 22.75 – Better than last month, but still working on increasing my mileage while avoiding more knee pains

Races Run (or partially run): 2 – Get Lucky 7K and the Shamrock Shuffle 8K

Races Registered For: I can’t even keep track anymore. Here’s my upcoming race calendar to date.

  • 4/7 – Bunny Rock 5K
  • 4/28 – Lakefront 10 Miler (free entry from CARA raffle)
  • 5/26 – Soldier Field 10 Miler
  • 6/2 – The Color Run
  • 9/2 – Disneyland Half Marathon
  • 9/9 – Chicago Half Marathon

Books Read: 1 – I was pretty bad this month about reading. I started at least 4 different books and didn’t finish any of them. Instead, I spent a lot of my reading time listing to One-Minute Irish podcasts, watching every episode of Downton Abbey at least once, and watching NCAA basketball games to check on my March Madness brackets. I hope to get back to reading more in April.

Accomplishments for March:

  • Started physical therapy for my knee.
  • Tried to learn a little bit of Irish using the One Minute Irish podcasts mentioned above
  • Attended a homemade pasta class through Dabble.
  • Watched my NCAA bracket make it into first place. It probably won’t stay there through the weekend, but I currently have all four Final Four teams in it, so I still have a fighting chance!
  • Registered for a workout package at Indigo Studio in my office building, and so far I have taken two classes there.
  • Hung out with my adorable nephew and my sister when they were in town earlier this month.

I did not make corned beef and cabbage for St. Patrick’s Day this year, and currently still have uncooked corned beef in my fridge. I need to make that before it goes bad!

Goals for April

  • Increase my mileage so I can at least finish the Lakefront 10 Miler in some form. (Preferably upright)
  • Get a hair cut for the first time in about 6 months.
  • Go to the dentist before my dental insurance runs out.
  • Take more classes at Indigo.
  • Read more.
  • See Snow Patrol at the Aragon.
  • Celebrate my birthday!
  • Meet my friend’s new baby.
  • Keep checking in for cheaper airfare to California for Labor Day.
  • Revamp my blog.

Stay tuned to see how I do!