CARA Participation Award

Since I don’t see myself placing in my age group at a race anytime soon, I decided this year to shoot for a very different kind of award – a participation award!

The Chicago Area Runners Association has a special Participation Award that they award to members who participate in ten or more CARA certified races in a year. Since I’m already well on my way to completing way too many races this year, I figured why not focus on registering for more CARA races. That way I can try to earn this award, and help support races that meet the high-quality standards that CARA sets forth.

So far, I am registered for 6 CARA races, and have plans for a few more. Here are the ones I’m already signed up for:

  • 3/25 – Shamrock Shuffle 8k
  • 4/7 – Bunny Rock 5k
  • 4/28 – Lakefront 10 Miler
  • 5/12 – Move for the Kids 5k
  • 5/26 – Soldier Field 10 Mile
  • 9/9 – Chicago Half Marathon

As for the remaining races, I may need to branch out to some suburban races. I’m quickly running out of weekends and will need to get creative to fit in the rest!

Leave a Reply

