Chicago Running Bloggers, Half Marathons, and Other Things That Make Me Happy

You may have noticed recently that a new little icon has popped up on the right side of my blog, beneath the categories list. It’s the logo for the Chicago Running Bloggers, an amazing group of bloggers I’ve found recently. The website is essentially a way to connect Chicago runners who blog (or bloggers who run), and read about what races they’re running, how their training is going, and other thingsĀ pertinent to runners, bloggers, and the Chicagoland area.

I am thrilled to now be a part of this awesome group, and to have found a new network of bloggers who will keep me motivated.

In addition to the race recaps and inspirational blogs through Chicago Running Bloggers, they also occasionally have some giveaways. Most recently, several of the bloggers were offered free entries into the 13.1. Chicago half marathon to give away to a reader. Of course, I can’t resist a chance at a free race entry, so I entered a few of the giveaways.

I wasn’t counting on winning, but much to my surprise, ilaxSTUDIO selected me as the recipient of the free entry!

I am so excited about this for several reasons. First off, this brings my current half marathon total for the year to three, which is a LONG way from where I was this time last year (still never running more than 6 miles in my life). I will be doing the 13.1 on June 9th, the Disneyland half on September 2, and the Chicago Half Marathon a week later, while raising money for Open Books.

But even more exciting is that by running the 13.1 and the Chicago Half in the same year, I am now eligible for the Windy City 26.2 Challenge and medal! This is something that’s on my List, but I just couldn’t afford to register for both this year. Now, thanks to my free entry, I will be able to cross this off my list!

Thanks, Chicago Running Bloggers, ilaxSTUDIO, and 13.1. You’ve made my day!