I Ran the Jelly Bean Virtual Race!

I’ve run a lot of races, but before now I’d never run a virtual one. The Jelly Bean Virtual Race was started by Jess of RunwithJess.com and I think it’s an awesome way to spread the enjoyment of running a race, but in a more laid back (and free) atmosphere than signing up for a typical 5K.

Here’s how it works:

Any time during Easter week (Sunday to Sunday) you commit to running one or more of the race distances:

  • 5K
  • 10K
  • Half Marathon
  • Bike 21K

Then you print out your special Jelly Bean race bib, run your distance on your own time anytime that week, and submit your results by the end of the week.

The way to win prizes in this virtual race is not by having the best time, but by earning points that enter you in a raffle. Points are earned in the following ways:

  • 1 point for submitting your finishing time for each distance you did.
  • 1 point for submitting a photo from your race.
  • 1 point for having a friend in your photo.
  • 2 points for wearing a “Heart & Sole” shirt, for sale on Jess’s website.

I ran my 5K on Tuesday, and tracked my time and distance with Nike+. I was feeling great that day, and was cruising along at a pretty good clip. It was actually really windy along the lake, which made part of the run hard, but part of it may have helped me along. In fact, if Nike+ was right, I actually had a PR on this run!

Unfortunately, I am not completely confident about the accuracy of Nike+, but if it is right, I’m pretty pumped! I’m still working on finishing a 5K in under 30 minutes, and while the Jelly Bean doesn’t count as an official race, if I can do it once, I hope it means I can do it again for an official time and finally cross it off my list soon!

Anyway, my time and photo have been submitted, and I can’t wait to find out who the winners are!

Me with my race bib and a "friend"

P.S. I also ran the Bunny Rock 5K this morning, so stay tuned for a Bunny Rock recap!

2 thoughts on “I Ran the Jelly Bean Virtual Race!

  1. This is pretty cute! I wish I would have found this before tonight… I ran 5 miles on Saturday & could have counted it :) Congrats on your time! I use Run Keeper & the other day it told me I ran a mile in 5 minutes…… uhhhh I don’t think so! Lol… I bet this was right though! Bravo!

  2. I think it was pretty close to accurate. I used to use Runtastic, which I liked but was often WAY off. Nike+ has been fairly close for me most of the time, unless I run down one certain street that always seems to lose my signal.

Leave a Reply

