April Check-In

Well, here we are, at the end of April. As much as I want to complain about the weather, I feel like having 80-degree days in March should cancel out the fact that I hate having to wear a coat on my birthday in April.

One of my favorite nights this month!

Anyway, April flew by this month, and  I can hardly believe it’s over. However, I did accomplish a lot, so here’s my April check-in for you all.

Life’s List Items Crossed Off: 2. A Sub-30 5K (YAY!!!!) and one other surprise you’ll get to read about soon!

Miles Run: 46. Much better than last month!

Races Run: 3 – Bunny Rock 5K, Home Team Charity Run, and the Lakefront 10 Miler

Upcoming Races:

  • 5/12 – Move for the Kids
  • 5/26 – Soldier Field 10 Mile
  • 6/2 – The Color Run
  • 6/9 – Chicago 13.1 (Thanks to Kim!)
  • 9/2 – Disneyland Half Marathon
  • 9/9 – Chicago Half Marathon

Even though I will be at well over 12 races this year, I am still shooting for a race a month. Still need something for July, August, October, November, and December. And I’m hoping for some of those to be CARA certified.

And speaking of CARA…

CARA Races Participation Award Update: 4 down, 6 to go. (Still need to sign up for 3 more)

Books Read: 3. Not great, but I’m still on track for my Goodreads Challenge.

2012 Reading Challenge

2012 Reading Challenge
Cary has
read 17 books toward her goal of 50 books.
hide

Accomplishments for April:

  • Graduated from physical therapy.
  • Completed the Lakefront 10, pain-free!
  • Got my hair cut.
  • Celebrated my birthday with good friends and good food.
  • Saw Snow Patrol at the Aragon.
  • Video-chatted with my nephew for the first time. Well, I chatted, he bounced in his bouncy-seat.

Goals for May

  • Work out more regularly.
  • Train for and complete the Soldier Field 10 Mile.
  • Create a curriculum for a reading program at work that I am really proud of.
  • Clean my apartment. Really clean it.
  • Use my Groupon for fondue before it expires.
  • Stop being so hard on myself and use my tendancies to overanalyze everything I do and how it could have been better to make positive changes, instead of just beating myself up.
  • Continue to do my therapy exercises at least 3x a week, even though I’m no longer meeting with my PT.
  • Volunteer for Mayfest.
  • Book flights to California.
  • Keep on track for my Goodreads goal.
  • Recruit at least one runner for Team Bookin It, and reach the $300 mark in my Half Marathon Fundraising by the end of the month. (Click here to join my team, or to help with fundraising!)

Leave a Reply

