Why It Seems I Only Post About Running

For those very few of you who have been following my blog since before my running craze, you’ve probably asked yourself, “Why does she only ever write about running? I thought this was a bucket list blog!” Well, you’re right, this IS a bucket list blog. I started this blog as a way to keep track of my Life’s List online, and to hold myself more accountable for crossing things off that list. I also wanted it to be a way to track my progress and reflect on the process of accomplishing the goals I’ve set for myself.

In that respect, this is still very much a bucket list blog. It just happens that many of the items I am working on this year are running related.

And I hate to say it, but it’s not going to end any time soon.

Right now I am 5 items in to my 12 Things in 2012, and so far two of them have been running related. ¬†And although I don’t really predetermine which 12 things I am going to accomplish each year, I can already tell you that I am on my way toward several more…most of which also relate to running.

Here are a few of the things I am working toward right now…

  • Earn my Coast-to-Coast medal by running a race in both Disney World and Disneyland in the same calendar year.
  • Run a race a month for an entire year. (Current count: January – 1; ¬†February – 1; March – 2:, April – 3; May – 1 down, 1 to go.)
  • Earn the CARA participation award for running 10 CARA certified races in a year. (5 down, 5 to go.)
  • Complete the Windy City Challenge, by running the 13.1 and the Chicago Half Marathon in the same summer. (Registered for both.)
  • Qualify for the Half Fanatics, which I hope to do by running the Disneyland half and the Chicago half back-t0-back weekends this September.
  • Run the Muddy Buddy race. (Currently registered.)

So, with all the posts about running random races, I haven’t lost sight of the real purpose of this blog…to set goals for myself and work toward making them happen.

I think the difference with running compared to other items on my list, such as travel or life milestones, is that running takes preparation. It requires training and dedication. And lately, it’s become more of a journey than a destination.

Sometimes I just need to write about that journey to remind myself I am making progress.

But never fear, because I have a few other non-running things on the agenda coming soon. So stay tuned.

4 thoughts on “Why It Seems I Only Post About Running

Leave a Reply

