Good News/Bad News

Let’s start with the bad news:

Still no luck on the apartment front.

I’m getting tired of having to cancel plans to look at places. Or squeezing in viewings between other things I need to do.

I’m tired of freaking out about how I have less than 3 weeks to be out of my place, and I’m not sure how or when I am going to make it happen.

I’m tired of getting confused as to which apartments I’ve seen, and which are new.

I’m tired of people being flaky and canceling on me, or not showing up at all.

I’m tired of drinking a lot and eating bad food and not cooking anything at home.

I am tired of feeling gross and unhealthy and snug in my clothes.

I’m tired of my stress spilling into all the other facets of my life, causing me to do less than my best at anything.

I want this search to be over. I long for the day I have a new apartment, I am settled in, and I can just sit on my couch and relax.

The good news: 

Since my long run was cancelled on Saturday due to the heat, I decided to run my 7 miles on Sunday evening. After a long weekend of unsuccessful apartment searching and other pent-up frustrations, it felt SO GOOD to run a good run. In fact, I somehow maintained a 9:38 pace, which is actually a PR pace for me! I guess stress is good for my running abilities. It also made me really realize the saying is true – you’re only one run away from a better mood.

After I got home, I felt like a whole new person.

If only I had more time to get in some of these good runs…(but the time will come soon. Right? Right?!)

Speaking of running, I am running my first ever “illegal” race. I am running the Bastille Day 5K tonight under the guise of my friend’s husband. I’ve never run with someone else’s bib, mainly because I like to keep tabs on all my race results in Athlinks, and this will mess that up. But, I love evening running, and I really enjoyed last year’s race. So, when my friend mentioned her husband wouldn’t be back from his business trip in time and wanted someone to run in his place, I decided it would be fun. Plus, this is the first night I am going to be doing something just for me, without any apartment stuff thrown in.

In other news, I have a few other showings lined up for Friday and Sunday, but I have managed to keep my Saturday plans to meet my favorite college friends. I haven’t seen them in over a year, and we are long overdue for some girl time. One of the girls lives in DeKalb, which is a half-way point for the other two of us, so I’ll be driving out there. We are hoping to get pedicures and rent some movies – just what the doctor ordered. I was really afraid I would have to cancel to do some more apartment hunting, but right now I think this is more important.

I really, really, REALLY hope that by this time next week I will know where I am living.

In the meantime, I’m just trying to find the right balance of apartment hunting and trying to keep some happy plans in my life. And thanks to everyone who has been so supportive, in so many different ways!

 

5 thoughts on “Good News/Bad News

  1. I love Padmapper. Someone else just introduced me to it, and it’s been super helpful in finding places in the areas I’m looking. Unfortunately, the places get rented faster than I can see them!

  2. So happy you had an awesome run that made you feel better for a bit! I hope you find a place soon and have more time again to do things you enjoy!

    How was the 5K?

    Have a fab weekend with your girlies!

Leave a Reply

