Thank Goodness for Cutback Weeks!

I am almost always grateful for cutback weeks in training, but never before have I been so happy for a cutback as I am this week. I only need to do three miles tomorrow, and I’m pretty sure that’s all I have left in me right now.

Let me just say, three races in 6 days really takes a toll on you, even if you’re slow. After somehow managing to survive both the Muddy Buddy and the Rock ‘n’ Roll Half last weekend, you’d think that would be enough. But I not-so-smartly also registered for the Run for Gus 5K, which was last night. And my body is still in “leave-me-alone and let-me-sit-on-the-couch” mode.

This is all I want to be doing right now.

I signed up for Run for Gus for two reasons. 1.) I love evening races, and 2.) It was another CARA race that was super convenient for me to get to. I tend to run better at night, and my current 5K PR was a nighttime race. I actually naively thought that I may have had another PR in me last night, but that backfired when I started out too fast, and realized half way through that I just didn’t have the energy left in me. (Gee, I wonder why?)

Regardless of the fact that I didn’t PR, I still ran another sub-30 race, which for me is always a sign of a decent run. Plus, it was a nice, small Lincoln Park race and I enjoyed myself a lot.

I know I say this all the time, but I’m really starting to get tired of races with hundreds or thousands of people, and I really do find the small races refreshing. There were only 642 runners, and the course was a nice, easy jaunt along the Lincoln Park lake path.

Here are my pros and cons about the race:

Pros

  • Small
  • Convenient location
  • Evening race
  • At least three chances for water along the course (plus lake path water fountains)
  • For a good cause
  • CARA certified
  • Great finish line foods. (I’ve never had a plum at the finish line before, and it was so refreshing! Plus, there were about 20 other snacks to choose from.)
  • Qdoba was offering free nachos at the finish. Yum.

Cons

  • There was no countdown to the start. Just a really startling start gun that scared the bajezus out of me.
  • A “small” unisex shirt is huge on me, and I will probably never wear it.

Other than that, I think it was a great race, and I’m glad I did it, even if I don’t plan on cramming that many races into a week ever again.

Rachel PRd yesterday!

 

Oh, but the best part of running all these races? Ice cream for dinner two nights this week! I had Scooters on Monday for National Vanilla Ice Cream Day, and a Blizzard yesterday for DQ’s Miracle Treat Day.

But now it’s time for a nap.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Thank Goodness for Cutback Weeks!

  1. You should make another t-shirt quilt with your race t-shirts. It could be your running quilt! If you ever run a race in the winter, you can wrap it around you at the finish line. :)

  2. Congratulations on your great race performances and another sub-30 5K!!! You have become quite the racing pro!

    I totally agree with you on the pros of smaller races vs the larger races. I find the smaller races much more meaningful and focused towards the cause. It’s also so nice to not have to worry about weaving in and out of other runners on the course, dealing with long lines, etc.

    I wish I’d known about the DQ Miracle Treat Day!!!! That Blizzard looks scrumptious!!!

  3. Ice cream for dinner! Yes please! Oh, you have to race to do that…? I better find some races :)

    Awesome job on another sub 30 5K! That looks like a nice course and I hear you on loving the smaller races. :)

Leave a Reply

