Chicago 10K Race “Pre-Cap”

I don’t know if “pre-cap” is a word, but if it’s not, it should be.

This Sunday I am running the inaugural Chicago 10K, and I am so pumped!

First off, this is my first-ever 10k. I’m not sure how I managed to have never run a 10k before, but I have a feeling this might be one of my favorite distances. Not to mention, it aligns perfectly with my Chicago Half cutback week.

But aside from the distance, I just have a good feeling this is going to be an awesome race. Here’s why:

1. As the inaugural year, they decided to cap the race at a few thousand participants. As I’ve said before, I am starting to really hate races that are too huge, and I appreciate that this will be a smaller crowd. That said, if this race goes as well as I am anticipating, I have a feeling it will grow significantly in future years. I really see it as being another Shamrock Shuffle, in the sense that even the people who only run one or two races a year will start to consider this a must-do. I’m so glad to have gotten in on the first year.

2. Despite being the first year, the organizers really seem to have their act together. Everything feels very professional and organized, and their website suggests this isn’t their first parade.  Packet pickup was held over 3 days at two different locations, and all the information was promptly emailed. Good job!

3. The race starts and ends in Grant Park. I love races that start and end in Grant Park.


4. They have the coolest race bibs ever! 

I mean, c’mon. Have you ever seen a bib with the El on it?! Granted, the orange space at the bottom is just asking for names to be pre-printed on there, but how cool is this?

5. The shirts are actual Finisher shirts. Not just “I signed up shirts.” I dig that.

6. Speaking of shirts, they actually gave you the option of a cotton shirt, or for a few dollars more you could get a technical shirt. I’ve never been given a choice before, and I really appreciate it. I ended up going with the cheaper cotton shirt to save money, but I like having options.

7. There’s a pretty sweet finishers medal! I’ve never run a 10k before, but my understanding is that not many 10Ks have medals.

8. The race is CARA certified. That means after Sunday, I will be only ONE race away from my CARA Participation Award! Hooray!


I’ll report back after the race with an actual recap, and let you know how it measured up to my seemingly high expectations. Is anyone else running the Chicago 10K this weekend?



7 thoughts on “Chicago 10K Race “Pre-Cap”

  1. I’m new to the blogging scene, but I found your blog on the Chicago Running Bloggers site! I am also running this race, and I am excited. I feel like a 10k is a great distance – and the medal for this is pretty sweet!! Did you see it at packet pick up? Good luck on the race!

  2. Good luck tomorrow! This will be my first 10k too :). Now I am confused on where it starts is it on columbus and roosevelt?

Leave a Reply

