I Officially Love 10Ks!

Today was the Chicago 10K, and it was just as awesome as I expected, and then some.

First of all, I LOVE the 10k distance! I’ve run just about every distance there is, I think (5k, 3.5-miler, 7k, 8k, 10-miler, half marathon, marathon), but until today, I’d never run a 10k. I think this is kind of the ideal distance, and now I want to run more of them!

But the Chicago 10K itself was also pretty awesome.

Here are some highlights:

  • The weather! Finally a race that was under 80-degrees. I had forgotten what it’s like to run when you’re not on the verge of heat stroke.
  • The shirt. I’m actually very pleased with my cotton shirt, and I am glad I didn’t upgrade to the tech shirt. It’s a nice soft cotton and will make a perfect lounging shirt. (I did hear a few complaints from runners who upgraded that the tech shirts ran very large.)
  • The course. I have a feeling some people might complain about this because it was along the path near museum campus and around the Shedd. I’ve run several races on this course and it does get extremely congested. But today’s runners were courteous enough to move to the side, or weren’t so jam-packed that it wasn’t too difficult to get through the crowd.
  • The volunteers. There were loads of younger volunteers from a Bradley Volleyball camp (I think, I can’t remember if that’s right), and they were by far the best race volunteers I have EVER seen in a race. So friendly, so peppy, lots of cheering…As someone who ALWAYS appreciates race volunteers, these put all other race vols to shame.
  • The medal. This is actually one of the nicest medals I’ve gotten. It ranks up there with some of my favorite half marathon medals!
  • The after-party. I didn’t stick around too long, but the band Ear Candy was playing, and there were a decent number of vendors and spots to relax.

I have to say, for an inaugural race, or any race for that matter, this was a great race.

The only con I can think of is that in all the aid stations along the course, I’m pretty sure there was only water, and no Gatorade. I didn’t mind too much, but I think if it had been hotter, Gatorade would have been pretty important.

Great Day for a 10K

There was one other thing that sort of bothered me about this race. Not due to the race itself, but with the whole concept of race shirts.

I tend to be pretty superstitious about not wearing my race shirts until after I run the race, with a few exceptions where the shirt is designed for wear during the race (like the Color Run). I guess I just don’t want to jinx myself and end up not actually earning the shirt.

I understand that not everyone feels this way, and lots of runners are proud to wear their shirts during the race. But what if the shirt says “Finisher” right across it? Don’t you think you should wait until you’ve actually finished, or else the shirt is a lie?

I just couldn’t believe how many runners I saw wearing their finishers shirts BEFORE the race.

Showing off my finisher shirt AFTER I finished.

Am I crazy? Am I the only one who thinks this is wrong?

14 thoughts on “I Officially Love 10Ks!

  1. Yes, I don’t think I have ever seen a “Finisher” shirt as the official participant shirt. Seems like there are may be more than a few people who got their t-shirt but didn’t finish the race. Oh well, at least you can wear it proudly now. Congrats on your first 10k finish!

  2. I’m with you on the shirts – I never wear race shirts (from the race I’m running, or another race) during races, unless the shirt is designed for the race (such as The Glo Run). I feel like for one, you have to “earn” the shirt (although I do wear a shirt from a race that was cancelled, but we did go out and run almost the distance of the race that same morning), and two, I have so many other running tops that I like to wear my “nice” running clothes during races, since I’ll be photographed.

  3. Congrats on a great race! I also thought this was a well-organized race. I really would have liked some gatorade at the aid stations…but I think it was more of a mental thing than actual need.

    I’m superstitious about wearing race shirts after I made the mistake of wearing the race shirt for the Fleet Feet Women’s Half to the race. I had a really painful, discouraging race. It might have just been coincidence (poor training perhaps was the actual culprit?), but I learned my lesson after that one :)

  4. I totally agree with you on the 10ks. I want to run more! There is the firelight 10k on September 15th that I might do. I always wear my race shirt the day of the race. The one time I didnt wear my race shirt was a 5k and my timing really sucked. I found it odd that it said chicago 10k finisher. Congrats :)

    • I always love hearing about different people’s race-day superstitions. It’s funny how some people refuse to wear the shirt on race day, and others always wear it.

      I tend to bring mine in my gear bag and put it on after when my sweat starts to dry and I get chilly. :)

  5. I think its bad luck to wear the shirt before the race…i won’t even try it on! I actually really like cotton race shirts, probably because i spend a significant amount of time lounging….

  6. I am so happy the 10K was so fun! The 10K kind of seems like a unique distance out here! You don’t see too many of them!

    I would not wear a finisher shirt before! LOL :)

    That medal is schweet!!!

Leave a Reply

