August Monthly Update

Wow. August flew by.

It was full of packing and unpacking, running and resting, hellos and goodbyes. I called two different places home this month, and said good bye to a friend who moved to Boston, and to the boy I will no longer be tutoring since his family moved away. It was an end of sorts, and also a new beginning.

Here’s a recap.

Life’s List Items Crossed Off: 1 – Make a cork board out of wine corks.

Miles Run: 41.3

Races Run: 1 – Chicago 10K

CARA Participation Award Update: 9 completed. 1 to go!

Books Read: 1, but finally reading on a regular basis again on my new commute!

Concerts Attended: 2 – My Morning Jacket/Band of Horses, and Whiskey of the Damned/Kevin Flynn

Pieces of IKEA Furniture Assembled: 1.5 – dresser still in progress

Trips to the Suburbs: 3

Accomplishments for August

  • Was offered a summer travel leader position for next summer.
  • Moved into my new apartment.
  • Treated myself to two massages – one with an Urban Oasis gift card, and a pre-race sports massage.
  • Guest bartended at Nisei Lounge and raised over $700 for Team Bookin’ It!
  • Booked my flights to MN for my nephew’s first birthday.
  • Planned and organized a group White Sox outing.
  • Left for Disneyland!

Goals for September

  • Earn my Coast to Coast medal.
  • Meet my Team Bookin’ It fundraising goal.
  • Get a half marathon PR.
  • Complete the Windy City Challenge.
  • Complete eligibility to the Half Fanatics by running two half marathons in 8 days.
  • Celebrate my nephew’s first birthday.
  • Attend Guinness and Oyster Fest
  • Try really hard to not eat out more than once a week.
  • Finish 3 books.
  • Survive the craziest month of the year at work.
  • Sign up for the gym and start doing other forms of exercise besides running.

One thought on “August Monthly Update

  1. Congrats on all of the many things you accomplished this past month! It was definitely a busy one for you, but that just means that you must feel very accomplished :)

    Arg I love making goals, even weekly ones – it helps keep me realistic and grounded.

Leave a Reply

