Tomorrow is a Very Big Day

Tomorrow is a big day for me.

Exactly one year ago, I was sitting here nervously awaiting my very first half marathon. I was running the Chicago Half Marathon for Open Books, terrified because I had never run that far before. Now, one year later, I half 5 half marathons and a full marathon under my belt. I have run 18 races in 2012 alone.

Tomorrow, as the anniversary of my first half, will be a celebratory day.

Me, less than a year ago, before I had ever run a half marathon.

It will also be a day that I will hopefully accomplish several goals I have set for myself. I think I have a good chance at accomplishing most of them, but I could still use some positive thoughts sent my way.

Tomorrow I hope to:

  • Finish the Chicago Half Marathon, with a PR. (This is one goal I am especially nervous about, because I am afraid I used up my PR energy last weekend at Disney.)
  • Complete the Windy City Challenge, by finishing both the Allstate 13.1 and the Chicago Half Marathon.
  • Support Open Books by running with Team Bookin’ It, and reaching my fundraising goal.
  • Qualify for the Half Fanatics by running two half marathons (in two different states!) in 8 days.
  • Earn my CARA Participation Award by running my 10th CARA Certified race this year.

And, if I accomplish those things, I will also be able to cross the 11th and 12th items from My Life’s List, reaching my goal of crossing off 12 things in 2012.

All ready to go, for Half Marathon #6.

See you at the finish line!

6 thoughts on “Tomorrow is a Very Big Day

    • Thanks, and good luck to you, too.

      I think the PR might be rough tomorrow, and I have one other secret personal goal I am shooting for, that might be rough. As for the rest, I think it’s in the bag!

Leave a Reply

